.

Have You Been Caught Driving and Talking on a Cell Phone?

The ban on driving while talking on hand-held cell phones went into effect Jan. 1.

"On the road, off the phone."

That’s what signage is flashing on expressways all across Illinois to remind drivers to get off their cell phone (unless they're using a hands-free device).

The cell phone ban law went into effect on Jan. 1 and prohibits the use of all hand-held devices while driving. Previously, drivers were only not able to talk on their phones while in school or construction zones.

Fines start at $75 for the first offense and increase up to $150 for repeat offenders.

Barrington Police Chief David Dorn said since the ban went effect, his department has issued three warnings and three citations.

Read more on Patch:

Cell Phone Ban in Cars Takes Effect in 2014


How has the cell phone ban affected you? Have you invested in a hands-free device?

m. kunk January 21, 2014 at 08:20 AM
Don't forget, driving with the phone to your ear is also a moving violation. In Illinois, 3 moving violations you will loose your license for 3 months to a year.
Nellie H January 21, 2014 at 12:08 PM
I did not even know about this new law. Even though I never talk on the phone while driving, I am tired of all of the rules and regulations we must abide by....some we might not even know about. We are probably breaking some kind of law just reading patch.
Cara Cossiboon DeMonte January 25, 2014 at 12:57 PM
I Love how they regulate the "no cell phone" law while driving, but you can drive while you have your dog in your lap ( like that's not a driving hazard!)

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »